Kent, CT to Hanover, NH: Into New England

Ok, I’m back.  Sorry for the long break between updates.  This one will cover a good bit of ground…

img_1643

 

Before leaving CT, I’d hike through the town of Falls Village and the amazing falls on the Housatonic River.

img_1641

Then, I was into the 11th state of this journey, Massachusetts!

img_1660

By now the weather had finally cooled, giving us reasonable temperatures.  And, after being at low altitudes the last few weeks, MA brought back some elevation.  A tough climb over Mt. Everett brought me into the highland region known as the Berkshires.  I’d stop in the town of Great Barrington for a couple days to hike with Woops again!

img_1669

Pretty area, with plenty of views.

img_1653img_1678

Farther north I’d climb Mt. Greylock, the highest peak I’d seen since Virginia.  It was great to get into some real elevation again.  Also, I knew I was getting into the Green Mountains.

img_1724img_1704

And just like that, I said goodbye to MA and hello to Vermont!

img_1742

Let me start by saying this.  Vermont. Is. Beautiful.  I know weather plays a big part in how much you may or may not like a certain section of trail, and living outside was exponentially more bearable here.  I get it.  But, this state has something about it that other states just didn’t have (and, no, I don’t mean relaxed marijuana laws…).

The trails here are some of the best.  The Green Mountains are a place I would recommend to anyone looking for an outdoor adventure.  The people are incredibly friendly.  Not that other places aren’t nice to visitors (not you, laundry lady), but everywhere you go has an outdoor vibe to it.

img_1747img_1748

img_1818

The AT through half of VT follows along the same path as the the ‘trail that inspired the AT’, the Long Trail.  I had a great time getting to meet and hike with a few people who were doing this trail that ends at the Canadian border!  Perhaps I’ll return one day to walk  the second half.

img_1751

img_1769

img_1715

Just a few days into VT and I’d climb Little Pond, Glastenbury, Stratton, and Bromley mountains with a stop in Manchester Center at the wonderful Green Mountain House Inn.

img_1771img_1779

It was here that I’d have to replace a critical piece of gear, my shoes.  The pair I was wearing had lasted me the ENTIRE TRAIL up to here, but it was time.  2000 miles (including pre-AT hiking) was plenty for a single pair.  Amazing that they lasted this long.

A day out of Manchester Ctr., I’d climb up Mt. Killington.  I decided to camp on top the mountain, something I hadn’t done in a while.  It was going to be a clear night with a new moon.  Combined with there being close to zero light pollution in the area, the stars would be spectacular.  And they were.  I laid down on that mountain top for hours staring at that amazing night sky.  This spot was one of the most memorable nights on the trail.

img_1834

This spot is also where I’d get my first real glimpses of the White Mountains.  These behemoths are visible over 100 miles away.

img_1789

Mt. Washington was getting closer…

Down Killington, into the town of the same name, and goodbye to the Long Trail.  It would continue north while the AT turns east toward New Hampshire.  A few days and I was into Norwich, VT (an amazing trail town), over the Connecticut River, and into Hanover, NH.  12 states down, 2 to go!

img_1872

The White Mountains are waiting.

 

SFSSF:

Miles: 1756.5

Highest Elevation: 3936′ (Stratton Mountain)

Mountains: 176

Pop Tarts: 61

Triple Doubles: 2

Leave a comment