Whatcha Eatin’?

Quick order of business: you guys should be seeing your comments now.  They may take a bit to show up, but keep ’em coming, I definitely see all of them!

On to the post:

By far, the most asked question I get from people is “Have you been eaten by a bear yet?”  If the answer isn’t apparent, then yes. Yes, I have been eaten by a bear.

The second most asked question is “What do you eat on trail?”  So…I had the idea to share a recipe with everyone.

Food on trail is based on two things.  Weight and calories.  Hikers want something that has a high calorie count and doesn’t weigh us down.  Ratios of fats to proteins to carbs plays a part as well, but I won’t go into that here.

That being said, you can’t eat peanut butter everyday…

Tuna Wraps

Let’s get something out of the way first.  I hike with a bag full of seasonings.  Yes, it’s extra weight, and yes, I’m fine with it.  What can I say, I’m from the food capital of the world and my mama raised me right.

First, heat up some olive oil

Then saute a small onion and bell pepper.  Season with salt, pepper, and garlic.

Add a package of tuna and cook everything down.

Get a flour tortilla ready and add the veggies and tuna.  Top it off with some sriracha, roll it up, and enjoy!

Simple.  Versatile.  Don’t like tuna?  Sub in a package of salmon or chicken.  You can even rehydrade some beans if you want to go all veggie.

Definitely one of my favorites.  I can make 4-5 wraps, with this recipe, and it’s plenty food after a long day.  The onion and pepper will last at least two days in the pack, and it takes little time to make.  Also, I get some fresh ingredients away from town.  

The tradeoff is the ingredients are on the heavy side, but this is typically made on the first day out anyway.

A bit different from the usual update post, let me know what you guys think.  I have a few favorites, and can do another of these if you’d like!

 

15 thoughts on “Whatcha Eatin’?

  1. Dude, I just figured out how to post comments. Have you eaten any roadkill yet and/or dumpster dived? I.e. have you gone full eustis yet?

    Very much enjoying the updates… jw is impressed. Stay safe, change socks regularly, and who dat.

    CH

    Like

  2. Ok. So maybe I read it in one of those Krakauer books – but isn’t “rice” like a great thing to pack on the trail. Lite, just add h2o, heat and it multiplies! Add chicken, onions, BP’s and Garlic and Batta bing- Arroz con Pollo!!! Satisfy your other 50% that’s not Italian!!

    Safe Travels- So Proud- Make Memories!!

    Like

  3. Hi Brandon. I am so impressed with you hiking this amazing trail. Are you going all the way to New England? I love you, Kelley

    Like

  4. I enjoy all your posts. If you write it, I’ll read it. Can’t wait to see your face again. Miss you! Be safe!

    Like

  5. I looked on these to see where the Trail is in NY. You will pass very close to where I used to live near Bear Mountain. Beautiful country.

    Like

Leave a comment